

#### THE LOUIS AND ARTUR LUCIAN AWARD FOR RESEARCH IN CIRCULATORY DISEASES

The Louis and Artur Lucian Award Committee McGill University, McIntyre Medical Building 3655 Promenade Sir William Osler, Room 1303 Montreal, Quebec, CANADA H3G1Y6

Tel.:514 398-1398Email:terence.hebert@mcgill.caEnquiries:lucianaward@mcgill.ca

December 5, 2023

Dear Colleague:

We are writing to solicit your collaboration in securing nominations for the forty-sixth annual Louis and Artur Lucian Award for Research in Circulatory Diseases. This Award, which was conferred for the first time in 1978, was established through a bequest to McGill University under the will of the late Olga Leibovici.

The Louis and Artur Lucian Award is designed to honor outstanding research in the field of circulatory diseases. The Lucian Award provides for financial support of the investigators and their families during their visit to McGill University. The conditions and the amount of the Lucian Award have changed over the past few years, making it a very attractive recompense for a researcher whose work has had a major impact in the area of circulatory diseases. As can be deduced from the attached list of awardees it is an award reserved for the very best in the field. The award is not necessarily based on the totality of the research career. The panel judging the applicants is most influenced by the applicant's impact in a specific area of research.

In addition to honoring the recipient it is hoped that through this Award, collaborative research in the field of circulatory diseases can be established between McGill University scientists and research centers on the North American continent and abroad. A small grant is provided to facilitate the collaborative work with the awardee.

Please do not hesitate to propose investigators that may qualify for this Award through the excellence of their research and their seminal contributions to the field of cardiovascular disease. To do so, please utilize the enclosed form.

Sincerely,

Tent

Terry Hébert, PhD Chair, The Louis and Artur Lucian Award Committee

Lesley Fellows, MDCM, DPhi1 Vice-Principal (Health Affairs) Dean, Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences



# THE LOUIS AND ARTUR LUCIAN AWARD FOR RESEARCH IN CIRCULATORY DISEASES

A Committee of the McGill University Faculty of Medicine chooses the investigators to be honored by this Award. The Committee is assisted in its task by an international panel of consultants who are distinguished scientists in the field of medicine, pathology, physiology, pharmacology, and surgery.

## THE LOUIS AND ARTUR LUCIAN AWARD COMMITTEE

Terry Hébert, PhD Chair, McGill University, Canada

Céline Fiset, PhD Université de Montréal, Canada

Dan M. Roden, MD Vanderbilt School of Medicine, USA Louise Pilote, MD, PhD McGill University, Canada

Rhian M. Touyz, MBBCh, PhD McGill University, Canada

George Thanassoulis, MD, MSc McGill University, Canada

### QUALIFICATIONS FOR THE AWARD

The Award will be conferred upon the individual or individuals nominated, who in the opinion of the Award Committee, have made the most outstanding contribution towards research in the field of circulatory diseases. The Award Committee recognizes no geographical limitations; nominations are invited without distinction as to gender or nationality. Preference will be given to work done in the recent past.

Prospective recipients should be nominated on the attached nomination form. This form together with supporting materials should be received on or before April 5<sup>th</sup>, 2024, and emailed to lucianaward@mcgill.ca



CANADA

#### THE LOUIS AND ARTUR LUCIAN AWARD FOR RESEARCH IN CIRCULATORY DISEASES

Each year McGill University confers the Louis and Artur Lucian Award for outstanding research in the field of circulatory diseases. The purpose of this Award is to honor a scientific investigator or group of investigators whose contribution to knowledge in this field is deemed worthy of special recognition. The successful candidate is invited as a visiting professor at McGill University to give a formal Lucian Lecture and to exchange and collaborate with members of the McGill Community. The awardee of awardees receive \$75,000 (Cdn) as a prize.

The Louis and Artur Lucian Award was established in 1978 under the will of the late Olga Leibovici through a bequest to McGill University and to honor the donor's two brothers.

Past Recipient 2023	David G Harrison	- Vanderbilt University School of Medicine	
2023	Barbara Casadei	<ul> <li>– Valueront Oniversity School of Medicine</li> <li>– University of Oxford</li> </ul>	
2022	Vasan Ramachandran	<ul> <li>Boston University School of Medicine</li> </ul>	
2020	David A. Kass	<ul> <li>Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine</li> </ul>	
2020	Joseph A. Hill	<ul> <li>Joints Hopkins University School of Medicine</li> <li>University of Texas Medical Center</li> </ul>	
2019	Dan M. Roden	– Vanderbilt University	
2018	Nabil Seidah	- Clinical Research Institute of Montreal (IRCM)	
2018	John McMurray	- University of Glasgow	
2017	Brian Kobilka	- Stanford University School of Medicine	
2015	Jeffery Molkentin	<ul> <li>University of Cincinnati College of Medicine</li> </ul>	
2013	Jeffrey Robbins	<ul> <li>University of Cincinnati College of Medicine</li> </ul>	
2013	David Ginsburg	<ul> <li>University of Michigan Medical School</li> </ul>	
2013	Garret A. Fitzgerald	<ul> <li>Perelman School of Medicine</li> </ul>	
2012	Shaun R. Coughlin	– University of California, San Francisco	
2010	Marlene Rabinovitch	- Stanford University School of Medicine	
2009	Peter Libby	<ul> <li>Harvard Medical School</li> </ul>	
2007	Not Awarded		
2006	Peter Carmeliet	- University of Leuven	
2005	Michael E. Gimbrone Jr	- Harvard Medical School	
2003	Roberto Bolli	– University of Louisville	
2003	Eric N. Olson	– University of Texas Southwestern Medical Centre	
2002	Salim Yusuf	- McMaster University	
2002	Mark C. Fishman	- Harvard Medical School	
2000	Robert J. Lefkowitz	<ul> <li>Duke University Medical School</li> </ul>	
1999	Victor J. Dzau	- Harvard Medical School	
1998	Eduardo Marban	– Johns Hopkins University	
1997	Russell Ross	– University of Washington	
1996	Robert Furchgott	- State University of New York	
	Salvador Moncada	– University College, London	
1995	Andrew and Avril Somlyo	– University of Virginia, Charlottesville	
1994	John B. Barlow	- University of the Witwaterstrand, South Africa	
1993	Arthur Brown	- Baylor College of Medicine	
1992	Judah Folkman	- The Children's Hospital, Boston	
1991	José Jalife	– State University of NY, Syracuse	
1990	Barbara Meyrick	– Vanderbilt University	
1989	Francis Chinard	- New Jersey Medical School	
	Ian Phillips	– University of Florida	
1988	Aubrey Taylor	– University of South Alabama	
1987	Daniel Steinberg	– University of California	
1986	Dirk Brutsaert	– University of Antwerp	
1985	Earl Wood	– Mayo Clinic	
1984	James and Una Ryan	– University of Miami	
1983	Norman Staub	– University of California	
		-	



1982	Christian Crone	
1981	Gilbert Thompson	
1980	Solbert Permutt	

- James Bassingthwaighte Nicolae and Maya Simionescu 1979
- 1978
- University of Copenhagen
  Hammersmith Hospital
  Johns Hopkins University
  University of Washington

- Bucharest and Yale University